Offices Throughout Texas, Including Dallas & Fort Worth. We Will Come to You!

Request Your Free Consultation
Get Started Right Away! Schedule your first consultation with the firm now.
  • Please enter your name.
  • This isn't a valid email address.
    Please enter your email address.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
    Please enter your phone number.
    You entered an invalid number.
  • Please select an option.
  • Please enter a message.
    • The submission of this website form does not constitute an attorney-client relationship. Unless a formal relationship has been established in writing, the information presented throughout this site, and any response to this web inquiry, either verbal or in writing, should be considered for informational purposes only, and any information provided to the firm should not be viewed as privileged or confidential.

How Can I Protect Myself After a Hit-and-Run Accident?

How Can I Protect Myself After a Hit-and-Run Accident?

Hit-run-accidents are just like any other type of motor vehicle accident—your safety comes first. Unfortunately, when you are unable to obtain the other driver’s information, i.e. they either leave the scene or stop but refuse to exchange with you, it can be incredibly discouraging.

What should I do when the other driver has fled?

  • Try to take down their license plate number, if possible
  • Report the incident to police immediately and file a report
  • Gather witnesses, if any, and take down their information
  • Make your insurance company aware of the accident

Also, try to take as many pictures of the aftermath as you can. This may be helpful for the police and other investigating teams. They may be able to uncover information that can lead to the other driver through the photos themselves.

Why do people flee the scene?

Fear is more than likely the motivation. The other driver that strikes you has no idea of the damages they have caused, and most certainly do not want to face the consequences. They may even wonder if they will face criminal charges. There is also that looming fear that they may have killed someone. They may be afraid of having to pay for the damages, especially if they did not carry insurance.

In Texas, these are the minimum uninsured motorist coverages:

  • Uninsured property damage: $30, 000 per person/$60, 000 per accident
  • Uninsured bodily injury: $30, 000 per person/ $60, 000 per accident

Either of these coverages can help to compensate for the damages as well as injuries suffered. This is helpful in such cases as this, where the other party cannot be found or identified. You can also raise these limits as you see fit at any time, which can provide you with added protection.

Hurt in a hit-and-run? Call Daspit Law Firm!

These type of accidents are extreme cases of negligence. Evidently, the other party owed you due care but did not do their part to exchange information with you. Now that you are left to pick up the pieces, it is imperative that you retain counsel from a trusted Dallas car accident lawyer right away to begin looking into your case. You deserve to be righted for the wrongs placed against you, and we fight to ensure that you receive what you need.

To begin the investigation, contact Daspit Law Firm to schedule a free case consultation. We are here to stand for you!